Japan Rail Pass by Japan Travel Centre London, UK

Bank Holiday Opening Hours & Delivery Notice May 2017

Our opening hours

29Apr (Sat) 10am–3pm
30Apr (Sun) Closed
01May (Mon) 10am–3pm
02May (Tue) 9am–6pm

< Special condition for UK Delivery by Royal Mail  >

All JR Pass orders received after 2pm on Friday, 28April will be ready for collection or dispatched by post on Tuesday, 2nd May.

Collection from our office is possible during opening times mentioned above.  For international delivery, please speak to us directly.

*We will accommodate urgent orders during opening hours, for an extra fee.  Please come and order from our Holborn office.

review

Ben

Nickname Ben
Which pass did you use? 7 day ordinary
When did you travel? October
How long did you stay in Japan? 13 days
Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Tokyo and Kyoto
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Japanese food
Your review

The Rail Pass is convenient and easy to use and the JR staff are very helpful. There is no need to queue to buy a ticket before travelling, you simply show the pass and walk through to the platform.

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

Pudsey

Nickname Pudsey
Which pass did you use? 21 day ordinary
When did you travel? August-September 2016
How long did you stay in Japan? 3 weeks
Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Kyoto, Hiroshima, Nagoya, Osaka, Tokyo, Sapporo, Nara, Mount Fuji
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Historical sites (e.g. Temples, Shrines)
Your review

My son had previously visited Japan and had used a Rail Pass so I thought I should. It made travelling around so easy and you only had to reserve a seat if you wanted to. Trains were frequent (and of course fast) so it made the longer journeys whizz past. When I got home, I totalled the longer train journeys I took which came to over 2000 miles and would have cost me a lot more than the cost of the Pass. This is something you must have to enjoy all of the delights of Japan.

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

Mount Fuji
Mount Fuji

Mel

Nickname Mel
Which pass did you use?  
When did you travel? August 2016
How long did you stay in Japan? 1 week
Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★   Very Good
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★   Very Good
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★   Very Good
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Tokyo, Kyoto, Hiroshima
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Historical sites (e.g. Temples, Shrines)
Your review

We just loved it - so glad to get the experience, eat amazing food and see some of the impressive history. It was a short visit and would love to go back to explore more. You just have to go, it's unique!
August though is very humid, so I'd recommend a different time of year if you can :)

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

kyoto
Kyoto

Laura B

Nickname

Laura B

Which pass did you use? 21 day ordinary
When did you travel? July - August 2016
How long did you stay in Japan?

3 weeks

Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★   Very Good
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★   Very Good
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Tokyo, Kyoto, Hakone, Toyama, Kanazawa
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Historical sites (e.g. Temples, Shrines)
Your review

 

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

Mrmonkey

Nickname

Mrmonkey

Which pass did you use? 21 day ordinary
When did you travel? May 2016
How long did you stay in Japan?

24 days

Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Osaka, Himeji, Chino, Okayama, Nakamura, Nagoya, Tokyo, Kyoto
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Japanese food
Your review

I have been to Japan many times and made good use of the excellent JR pass to travel extensively around Japan.

Japan Travel Centre service is always excellent.

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

I.F.

Nickname

I.F.

Which pass did you use? 7 day ordinary
When did you travel? May 2016
How long did you stay in Japan?

2 weeks

Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Easy to use ★ ★ ★   Average
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Sapporo, Tokyo, Osaka & other nearby cities.
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Historical sites (e.g. Temples, Shrines)
Your review

JR pass is a good way of travelling in Japan it's not always the easiest way to use. It seems to us places in Japan are clean, most Japanese people are friendly & you feel safe in general. Great food, great sightseeings, will visit again soon.

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

Osaka
Osaka

Londontraveller

Nickname

Londontraveller

Which pass did you use? 7 day ordinary
When did you travel? June 2016
How long did you stay in Japan?

14 days

Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Easy to use ★ ★ ★   Average
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Tokyo, Kyoto, Kawaguchiko, Hiroshima, Mijyama
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Historical sites (e.g. Temples, Shrines)
Your review

Had a great time with great food and culturally inspiring!

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

Jinx

Nickname

Jinx

Which pass did you use? 7 day ordinary
When did you travel? June 2016
How long did you stay in Japan?

2 week

Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Osaka, Kyoto, Tokyo, Hiroshima, Yokohama, Miyajima
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Historical sites (e.g. Temples, Shrines)
Your review

I find Japan fascinating, a country of extremes. I think the countryside is beautiful and I enjoy the food. I like the order that exists.

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

Som

Nickname

Som

Which pass did you use? 7 day ordinary
When did you travel? 1 - 8 Jun 2016
How long did you stay in Japan?

1 week

Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka, Kamakura
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Japanese food
Your review  
Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

Bob

Nickname

Bob

Which pass did you use? 7 day ordinary
When did you travel? May-June 2016
How long did you stay in Japan?

5 days

Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Tokyo, Kyoto, Kanazawa
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Japanese food
Your review

Japan rail pass is very useful. It allows you to take the shinkasen( bullet train) and you are able to see mt fuji from the train. When you are in tokyo i would recommend getting a Pasmo card for metro system. Japan is a lovely country, people are very friendly, you must visit.

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

Miyajima
Akihabara

Mohsen

Nickname

Mohsen

Which pass did you use? 7 & 21 day ordinary
When did you travel? May & June 2016
How long did you stay in Japan?

5 weeks

Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Tokyo. Kyoto, Nagoya, Osaka, Hiroshima, Okayama, Kanazawa, Kobe
Which of these did you enjoy the most? People
Your review

The Japan Rail Pass was excellent, great value and easy to use!

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

SueP

Nickname

SueP

Which pass did you use? 7 day ordinary
When did you travel? May 2016
How long did you stay in Japan?

2 weeks

Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★   Very Good
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto, Hiroshima, Tanabe
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Japanese food
Your review

The Travel Centre were excellent in helping me get my rail pass sorted. Althoug I knew it was only available to foreign nationals I hadn't realised I could only order it before I arrived. I was stuck on the Friday afternoon before I left on Monday morning ringing around trying to find a way to do this. The Travel Centre said they could post it to my Tokyo hotel (I didn't need the pass for the first week), but then I got a call back to say that they could get in in the post that night and delivery it to my home the following morning. Duly done, as said! Very impressed.

The Rail Pass does make travel so much easier and is cost effective if you're doing more than one long journey. Once mine ran out I made a mistake on my last single ticket and got on a faster service than my ticket allowed. The only thing is to leave enough time when you get there to process your order. Don't do what I did and leave it to the morning you want to travel - the queues were pretty long in Tokyo station.

I moved city quite a lot which can get exhausting lugging your bags around. Next time I will use the pass to travel more on day trips. You can get quite a long way and back in a day on the bullet trains and they have excellent amounts of leg room and the seats recline pretty far too.

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

Richie

Nickname

Richie

Which pass did you use? Kyushu pass
When did you travel? May 2016
How long did you stay in Japan?

1 week

Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Fukuoka, Dazaifu, Saga, Ureshino, Kagoshima, Chiran
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Historical sites (e.g. Temples, Shrines)
Your review

By sharing your experiences, it would help other travellers to best enjoy their Japan holiday and to improve the quality of our products and services. Thank you! The JR Pass is great value and also really useful as you don't need to spend time buying individual tickets., Staff at JR ticket officesd are helpful in arranging reserved seats (at no extra cost) for those with JR passes

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

ian

Nickname

ian

Which pass did you use? 7 day ordinary
When did you travel? June 7-13 2016
How long did you stay in Japan?

13 days

Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Nagoya, Fukuoka, Osaka, Wakayama
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Japanese food
Your review

By sharing your experiences, it would help other travellers to best enjoy their Japan holiday and to improve the quality of our products and services. Thank you! The JR Pass is great value and also really useful as you don't need to spend time buying individual tickets., Staff at JR ticket officesd are helpful in arranging reserved seats (at no extra cost) for those with JR passes

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

Emilie

Nickname

Emilie

Which pass did you use? 14 day ordinary
When did you travel? 11th to the 24th June 2016
How long did you stay in Japan?

14 days

Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★   Very Good
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Tokyo, Kanazawa, Kyoto, Osaka, Kobe, Nagoya, Hakone
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Japanese food
Your review

Japan was great. There is so much to see, and so much to do! We want to visit again because there's still a lot we didn't have a chance to visit. The people we met were all lovely, and the Japan Rail Pass was great because we knew we'd be able to get to the next place without trouble. We stayed in a variety of accommodation types - from hotels to AirBnBs - so make sure to do your research and decide where you want to stay!

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

Jas

Nickname

Jas

Which pass did you use?  
When did you travel? June 2016
How long did you stay in Japan?

11 days

Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★   Very Good
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Osaka, Fukuoka (Hakata), Beppue, Kobe, Kyoto, Nara
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Japanese food
Your review

JR Pass is super easy to use, although it might seems pricey here it definitely saves. It is very easy to use and exchange (collect) from certain stations, once in Japan.

If you're expecting to travel all over Japan, or to one major city to the other via Shinkansen (bullet train), then definitely get this pass! It's well worth it in the end, less stress.

Japan Travel Centre are brilliant and were extremely helpful, huge thanks! When I go to Japan again, I will come back here to look for another JR Pass!

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

M

Nickname

Peter

Which pass did you use? 7 day green
When did you travel? 13-05-2016
How long did you stay in Japan?

11 days

Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Tokyo, Kawaguchiko, Osaka, Kyoto, Hiroshima, Nara
Which of these did you enjoy the most? People
Your review

Always wanted to visit Japan I am sorry that it took me so long I should have visited Japan earlier great people great food and drink great transport and all is very well organised and clean can't wait to go again.

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

Kyra

Nickname

Finnie

Which pass did you use? 7 day green
When did you travel? Early November 2016
How long did you stay in Japan?

Two weeks

Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka, Kamakura, Mishima/Fuji, Kobe, Nara and Hiroshima.
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Train Travel
Your review

Being able to easily hop on/off the Shinkansen has by far been one of the highlights of my life. An absolutely incredible experience and the JR Pass gives you the ability to do that. However, I would only recommend if you'll be visiting a lot of cities; otherwise you won't get your money back (e.g. if you just use it to get around locally in Tokyo.)

However it gives you inspiration on destinations you may not have previously planned I your trip. For example, I went to Miyajima Island (Itsukushima) off the coast of Hiroshima and only because I realised I could get there completely free - the pass even covered the ferry!

It be and my most favourite place on earth.
All j have to say for te JR Pass is a huge thank you - it really made my Japan trip.

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

Miyajima
Miyajima

Peter 2016

Nickname

Peter

Which pass did you use? 7 day green
When did you travel? May 2016
How long did you stay in Japan?

2 weeks

Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★   Very Good
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★   Very Good
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? tokyo, kyoto, Hiroshima
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Japanese food
Your review

Amazing country in almost every way - Tokyo getting very very popular with visitors as it ramps up preparations for 2020 Olympics - Hiroshima was a special place and parts of Kyoto were magical - cannot wait to return - Arigato

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

Shel

Nickname Shel
Which pass did you use?  
When did you travel? 17/04/2016
How long did you stay in Japan? 21 days
Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Tokyo, Kyoto, Hiroshima
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Train Travel
Your review

By sharing your experiences, it would help other travellers to best enjoy their Japan holiday and to improve the quality of our products and services. Thank you!

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

Andrew Maher

Nickname Andrew Maher
Which pass did you use?  
When did you travel? 25th April -1st May 2016
How long did you stay in Japan? 12 days
Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Tokyo, Kyoto, Hiroshima, Hakone
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Historical sites (e.g. Temples, Shrines)
Your review

The rail pass was excellent value and easy to use. We saw so much of Japan in such a short time, because the transport networks were fantastic and the Shinkansen trains so very fast.

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

Anna

Nickname Anna
Which pass did you use?  
When did you travel? Beginning of April 2016
How long did you stay in Japan? 14 days
Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★   Very Good
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★   Very Good
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Tokyo, Kanazawa
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Japanese food
Your review

 

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

Kanazawa
Kanazawa

JapanLover

Nickname JapanLover
Which pass did you use?  
When did you travel? 13 May 2016 - 21 May 2016
How long did you stay in Japan? 9 days
Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Osaka, Yufuin, Nagasaki, Fukuoka and Kyoto.
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Historical sites (e.g. Temples, Shrines)
Your review

Careful and advance planning of the travel routes and train schedules are important to the best use of the all areas Japan Rail Pass.

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

Poppy

Nickname poppy
Which pass did you use? 7 day green
When did you travel? April 2016
How long did you stay in Japan? 14 days
Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Tokyo, Kamakoura, Nikki
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Historical sites (e.g. Temples, Shrines)
Your review

By sharing your experiences, it would help other travellers to best enjoy their Japan holiday and to improve the quality of our products and services. Thank you!

The service provided to me from Japan Travel Center was excellent. They were so helpful and and efficient. I am planning to travel to japan again this year, I loved it so much ! An I will use Japan Travel center again.

Thank You

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

Tu

Nickname Tu
Which pass did you use?  
When did you travel? April 2016
How long did you stay in Japan? 14 days
Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★   Very Good
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★   Very Good
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★   Very Good
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Tokyo, Hokkaido, Hiroshima, Kyoto, Nara
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Historical sites (e.g. Temples, Shrines)
Your review

 

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

Prince

Nickname Prince
Which pass did you use? 7 day ordinary
When did you travel? April 2016
How long did you stay in Japan? 7 days
Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka and Hiroshima
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Historical sites (e.g. Temples, Shrines)
Your review

Excellent. Japan is extremely well organised and efficient and so is JR Pass. Excellent and helpful service from Japan Travel Centre too, with lots of additional tips for my journey when I picked up my pass. Overall, cannot fault it. Brilliant and thank you!

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

Kyoto
Kyoto

Handsome

Nickname Handsome
Which pass did you use? 14 day ordinary
When did you travel? April 2016
How long did you stay in Japan? 14 days
Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★   Very Good
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★   Very Good
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka, Hiroshima, Nagasaki
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Historical sites (e.g. Temples, Shrines)
Your review

 

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

anym

anym anym
Which pass did you use?  
When did you travel? April/May 2016
How long did you stay in Japan? 10 days
Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★   Very Good
Value ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★   Average
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Tokyo, Kyoto Hiroshima, Fukuokau
Which of these did you enjoy the most? People
Your review

Japan is fascinating, challenging, exciting, interesting, demanding, rewarding

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

Matchieu

Nickname Lovejapan
Which pass did you use? 7 day ordinary
When did you travel? April - May 2016
How long did you stay in Japan? 12 days
Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★   Very Good
Value ★ ★ ★   Average
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★   Very Good
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Tokyo, Kawagoe, Kamakura, Hakone, Kyoto, Nara, Koya-san, Himeji, Hiroshima
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Historical sites (e.g. Temples, Shrines)
Your review

Travelling through Japan takes a bit of courage, specially if you don't speak Japanese, but it's well worth it.
Some of the lines in remote places do not accept the Japan Rail pass, but most big cities do. Also, some cities are covered by more than one train operator, so it's a bit tricky to get the one that is covered by the pass.

Once you get past these shortcomings, the value of JR pass is fantastic, specially for long journeys (e.g. Kyoto to Tokyo, Hiroshima, etc.). If you're only doing minor trips around your main city, it's not that great value.

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

Lovejapan

Nickname Matchieu
Which pass did you use? 14 day ordinary
When did you travel? 23/4/16 - 6/5/16
How long did you stay in Japan? 15 days
Please rate Japan Rail Pass  
Overall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Value ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Easy to use ★ ★ ★ ★ ★   Excellent
Please rate Japan Travel Centre  
Our service ★ ★ ★ ★   Very Good
Which city/cities in Japan did you visit? Kyoto, Osaka, Tokyo, Hiroshima, Nara, Niko, Miajima
Which of these did you enjoy the most? Other
Your review

So as a yearly trip we decided that Japan would be the place to go.
And it was fantastic!
Such a fascinating country, everything seems very similar to the Western World but is very different. The mix between past & future is fascinating.
We were a bit worried that the language would be a limiting factor but everyone tried their best to communicate with us and make us feel welcome.
The food was good if lacking fresh vegetables.
And surprisingly it was a very affordable trip.
The Japan Rail pass was fantastic, cheap for what it is & we could move around very easily. The Japanese transportation system is super impressive, always on time, super organised, fast & efficient.
Japan is a place that everyone needs to visit!

Would you like to visit Japan again? Yes

tokyo
Tokyo


Related articles